Lancashire Rose
Lancashire Rose

Lancashire has a proud history. Following the Norman Conquest King William gave the land between the Ribble and the Mersey, together with Amounderness to Roger of Poitou. In the early 1090s King William II added Lonsdale, Cartmel and Furness to Roger’s estates, thereby giving him control of all the land between the river Mersey in the south and the river Duddon in the north. Lancashire had come into existence in all but name. It wasn’t to be until 1168 that Henry II would term these lands the county of Lancashire.

On the 27th November, 1295, elected representatives from Lancashire were called to Westminster, for the first time, by King Edward I to attend what later became known as “The Model Parliament”.

In 1351 Henry, Earl of Lancaster, was made a Duke and was also granted Palatinate powers – the royal powers, or the powers belonging to the palace. These powers lapsed upon his death but they were restored in 1351 because of Lancashire’s strategic location in defending England from the Scots.

Lancashire Day marks the significance of 27th Novemberevery year with the reading of the Lancashire Day Proclamation throughout the county with a toast raised to the Duke of Lancashire, Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II.

For details of when and where the proclamation will be read this year, please visit the Friends of Real Lancashire web site where you will also find a list of events being held to celebrate our county’s special status.

Where is Lancashire?

Lancashire County Boundary
Lancashire County Boundary

Despite what many people think, the boundaries of Lancashire do encompass Liverpool, Manchester, Southport, Blackpool, Blackburn and the Furness Peninsula. The boundaries of Lancashire, the county, were set way back in 1168 and they have not changed since. What has changed is the council that governs the county of Lancashire. Parts of Lancashire may now be governed locally by Sefton, Manchester, Bolton, Liverpool, Knowsley, Yorkshire, Wigan, Blackburn and Cumbria councils (to name a few), but the physical boundaries of the Lancashire the county have not changed since the middle ages.

The map on the right shows the boundary of Lancashire in red. The large green area is the part of Lancashire governed by Lancashire County Council – so the signs just past the Wigan turn off on the M6 shouldn’t say “Welcome to Lancashire”, they should say “Welcome to the part of Lancashire Governed by Lancashire County Council”. The other coloured areas are the parts of Lancashire governed by other metropolitan councils and unitary authorities.

Notice how Lancashire County Council governs part of Yorkshire – I bet that offends our eastern bretheren.

A more detailed map can be found on the Friends of Real Lancashire web site.

Leave a Reply